You are here

News: Thursday, December 13th, 2018

District earns NAOSH Award for third year in a row

The Abbotsford School District has been awarded the Canadian Society of Safety Engineering (CSSE) North American Occupational Safety and Health (NAOSH) Award for its third year in a row, in the category for “Organizations with over 500 employees”. Each year, the BC/Yukon Region of CSSE recognizes organizations that demonstrate an exceptional commitment and effort in the field of occupational health & safety.

“The Abbotsford Board of Education is committed to building a progressive workforce and provincial awards like this recognize our commitment to leading our organization with the most effective and innovative practices in workplace health and safety,” stated Stan Petersen, Board Chair. “On behalf of my colleagues on the Board of Education, I extend our congratulations to everyone who contributed to this outstanding achievement.”

The District’s safety efforts, which were acknowledged by the awarding body, include:

  • Occupational Health & Safety Committee compliance audit;
  • 240 staff trained in CPI Nonviolent Crisis Intervention;
  • Pilot of the new online Violent Incident reporting process;
  • Safe Work Procedures developed for use of Table Saws and Mould Remediation;
  • Occupational First Aid Level 1 training for all Facilities Maintenance staff.

 “This is the third consecutive year that we have received this award. I think it’s a great demonstration of how leaders and employees across the organization continue to make safety a priority," noted Michele Radomski, Associate Superintendent of Human Resources.

The award was presented to Abbotsford School District's JOHS Committee at the CSSE – BC Achievement Recognition Awards in November 26, 2018.


Pictured in photo (left to right):  

Michael Whalley, JOHSC Rep. and Teacher, Eugene Reimer Middle School
Richard VanGrol, DOHSC Rep. and Teamsters Business Agent, Abbotsford School District
Korky Neufeld, Trustee, Abbotsford Board of Education
Heidi Knull, JOHSC Rep. and Education Assistant, Robert Bateman Secondary School
Serena Pettersen, JOHSC Rep. and Teacher, Alexander Elementary School
Alicia Kroecker, DOHSC Rep., JOHSC Rep. and Education Assistant, Ten Broeck Elementary School
Tanya Tighe, Manager, Organizational Health and Safety, Abbotsford School District
Sharon Robinson, Clerical Support, Occupational Health & Safety, Abbotsford School District
Tanya Steele, CSSE, Regional Vice President, BC & Yukon

Media Contact:

Kayla Stuckart, Manager of Communications
Phone: (604) 859 – 4891 ext. 1206